YMCA Camp Watia will be a residential camp housed on 900 acres of unblemished land in Swain County mere steps away from the Nantahala Outdoor Center and Fontana Lake. Once completed it will be a place where children can build trust and belonging amongst their peers, a natural classroom for STEM, literacy, and history, and a place where an once-in-a-lifetime experience can become a tradition.

Click here for the Fall 2015 camp construction update video
Click here for the Summer 2015 camp construction update video
Click here for the Winter 2016 camp construction update video



With 95% of children attending local camps coming from 500 miles or further away, the YMCA of Western North Carolina believes that it is time to give our children a chance to see what camp is all about. YMCA Camp Watia will be a marquee camp that caters to the families, regardless of income, of Western North Carolina. It also serves as a chance to preserve a pristine wilderness for generations to come and a way to provide substantial and meaningful economic impact to the region. When all the benefits for our community, families, and children are weighed the real question becomes, “Why not YMCA Camp Watia?”


Thank You YMCA Camp Watia Donors

Larry Armor       
Glenn and Sherri Austin
Fred and Marcia Ayers
James Baley 
Louis and Sara Bissette 
Tim and Julie Blenco      
Robert and Diane Brady  
David and Cindy Brown
Scott and Tracy Buchanan  
Joseph and Danielle Buttigieg
Dan and Ellen Campbell  
Nat "Buzzy" Cannady
Richard Carter
Michael and Marilyn Cortes
Mark and Kit Cramer
Michael and Gina Crawford  
Norris and Cricket Crigler  
Simeon Cross    
R. Marshall and Karen Dark  
Charles and Michelle Davis  
Allan and Julie Ann Dawson  
Sharon Decker 
Dixon Hughes Goodman
Eaton Corporation
Richard and Bridget Eckerd
Ronald and Nancy Edgerton 
Teresa and Chuck Edwards
Nathan and Sugie Einstein 
Greg and Kristin Elwell
Entegra Bank 
First Citizens Bank
Gary and Taylor Foss
Charles and Sandy Frederick
Todd and Nancy Fredin
Kerry and Anna Friedman
C. Kent and Linda Garner
William and Catherine Gay 



Timothy and Betsy Gillespie
The Glass Foundation, Inc.
Richard and Leslie Green         
Gerald and Leigh Greene
The Groome Family           
Richard and Denise Guthy           
Kathleen Guyette
John and Jean Hall          
Amy and Neal Hanks     
Gibbie Harris   
William and Sharon Hathaway
Mary Hebrank   
Kevin and Jennifer Hefner    
The Higgins Family Charitable Fund
Frances Hill         
Ted and Beth Hill
HomeTrust Bank
A.C. and Susie Honeycutt 
William Bradley Isaacs   
James and Kim Jardine
Dick Jennings
Jennings Builders Supply and Hardware
Stephen Jones 
Peter and Amy Knight   
Gene Knoefel
Wanda and TP Lawless  
Lois Lenzen        
Mark and Lisa Lindsay   
Elizabeth Long  
Richard and Janna Lutovsky        
John and Kitty Martin    
Kiki and Vaughan Matthews      
Raymond and Sue McClinton
Lee and Merri McLean    
Dawson and Susan Mims
Mission Hospital              
Clarke and Janet Mitchell
Morrow Insurance Agency, Inc
Steven and Stephanie Orr

Sharon Parker
Patla, Straus, Robinson & Moore, P.A.
James and Julie Peterson            
John and Dianna Pierce
Randy and Molly Phillips
Francella Poston
Daniel Prevost
Jed and Susan Rankin            
Tip and Ann Ray               
Vanessa Salomo Scully and Joe Scully
Joseph Segrave 
Kay Sinclair         
Silver-Line Plastics
Philip and Pat Smith
Latisha Steele
Wyatt and Kim Stevens  
Sabra and Bill Stewart
Jimbo and Robin Stickney  
Dana and Jana Stonestreet         
Tect Aerospace/Universal Alloy Corp
William and Nancy Thompson
James and Pam Turner  
Leslie Vest         
Paul and Vicki Vest         
Steve Ware
Amy Webb
Jean Webb     
John Webb        
Laura Webb and John Hoskins
Webb Investment Services  
Wells Fargo Bank
Kevin and Amy Westmoreland
Stephen and Brenda White
Mary Williams       
Jes and Toby Williams
WNC Health Insurance
Stephen Woody and Mary Bruce 
YMCA Heritage Club
Jeffrey and Elisha Zander

YMCA Camp Watia Capital Campaign Volunteer Leadership Team

Steering Committee Chair
Rick Lutovsky

Public Phase Co-Chairs
Amy and Neal Hanks
Bill and Sharon Hathaway

Buncombe and Madison Counties
Laura Webb
John Hoskins

Cherokee Reservation
Mary Jane Ferguson

Haywood County
Caroline McLean
Chip Morris



Macon and Clay Counties
Jim Bross

McDowell, Mitchell, and Yancy Counties
Marsh Dark

Swain, Graham, and Cherokee Counties
Kim Carpenter

Transylvania and Jackson Counties
Kristen Aquino